1. Quest manufacturing incurs the following costs per unit: labor $100/unit, materials $50/unit, and rent $100,000/month. If the Quest produces 500,000 units a month, calculate the following:
a. Total variable costs
b. Total fixed costs
c. Total costs
2. You have a plant that produces copiers for sale. Your costs for producing copiers are 1: $42, 2: $44, 3: $47, 4: $50, 5: $54, 6: $60, 7: $69, and 8: $80. What are your marginal costs for each copier produced? If you sell a copier for $15 per copier, what quantity of copiers sale would you want?
3. You own a plant that produces 10,000 copiers per year. Your fixed costs are $50,000 per year. The marginal cost per copier is a constant $5. What is your break-even price? What would be your break-even price if you were to sell 70% more copiers?
4. Suppose you make an initial investment of $70,000 that will return $20,000/year for four years (assume the $20,000 is received each year at the end of the year). Is this a profitable investment if the discount rate is 15%?
5. A US company has revenue of $5.5 million and total costs of $7.5 million, which are or can be broken down into total fixed cost of $3 million and total variable cost of $4.5 million. The net loss on the firm’s income statement is reported as $2,000,000 (ignoring tax implications). In prior periods, the firm had reported profits on its operations.
- What decision should the firm make regarding operations over the short term?
- What decision should the firm make regarding operations over the long term?
- Assume the same business scenario except that revenue is now $5.0 million, and total costs of $7.5 million, which are or can be broken down into total fixed cost of $3 million and total variable cost of $4.5 million, which creates a net loss of $1.2 million. What decision should the firm make regarding operations in this case?
"Place your order now for a similar assignment and have exceptional work written by our team of experts, guaranteeing you A results."